New Year's honours for local government figures

LOCAL GOVERNMENT figures including council leaders, mayors and chief executives have been named in the New Year's honours list.

There is a CBE for Roslyn Jones, the elected mayor of Doncaster Council who has overseen a turnaround at the authority following a damning Audit Commission report in 2010 that detailed serious failings in corporate governance and leadership. A Government intervention launched on the back of the report was brought to an early conclusion in 2014 after the council made significant improvements.

CBEs have also been awarded to the Local Government Ombudsman, Jane Martin, as well as London Borough of Newham chief executive Kim Bromley-Derry, London Borough of Wandsworth leader Ravindra Govinda and David Hodge, leader of Surrey County Council and vice-chairman of the Local Government Association.

In addition, there was a CBE for Paul Rowsell, deputy director, democracy, at the Department for Communities & Local Government.

Elsewhere, Robert Sleigh, leader of Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council and Neil Stock, leader of Tendring District Council, have both received OBEs.

There are MBEs for Sonia Bassey-Williams, integrated early support senior manager at Cheshire West & Chester Council, and Peter David Reeve, a councillor at Huntingdonshire District Council.

Meanwhile, the British Empire Medal was awarded to Eric Carter, a parish councillor for New Frankley in Birmingham Parish Council, and Doug Haynes, clerk of Beeston Parish Council.

Communities secretary Sajid Javid said: "It's fantastic to see some of those working in local government and charities across the country recognised in the New Year's Honours list for their outstanding contribution to our communities.

"It's only right that these dedicated people and their tireless efforts are honoured in this way. I would like to thank them for all that they do."