SOUTH NORTHAMPTONSHIRE and Cherwell district councils have named Yvonne Rees as their preferred candidate to become their new joint chief executive.

WAKEFIELD Council has confirmed Merran McRae as its new chief executive.

WALSALL Council chief executive Paul Sheehan will retire later this year after over 41 years in local government.

CRAWLEY Borough Council is set to name Natalie Brahma-Pearl as its new chief executive.

LORD KERSLAKE has been appointed as chair of Be First, a regeneration company wholly owned by Barking & Dagenham Council.

RUSHMOOR Borough Council has appointed a new chief executive to replace Andrew Lloyd, who has retired as after more than two decades in the role.

The Local Government Ombudsman has appointed Nigel Ellis as its new chief executive.

DR Sallie Bacon has been named Hampshire's director of public health by the county council and Public Health England.

ANGUS Council has appointed Margo Williamson as its new chief executive.

BARNET Council has formally appointed John Hooton as its new chief executive.